Gryllacrididic Inquiry

But, what really struck me was what he did next, which was curl his head downward (toward his abdomen), pause for a moment, and then began consuming his own innards…literally cannibalizing himself.

Most therapists want to fix and help everyone, but they cannot. When they come across a patient that they cannot fix, let alone help, they become wounded by uncertainty. What is wrong with this patient? Why won’t my technique help them? What am I doing wrong? What else should I try? What am I missing?

The questions one asks themselves are critical, but the answers one arrives at are more important; they often lead a clinician down a path of cannibalistic self-destruction.

Next time you are frustrated by perceived ineffectiveness, pause for a moment to reflect and ask yourself:

Am I asking myself the right questions?

Leave a Reply

