Finding Direction

“He who does not know how to look back at where he came from will never get to his destination.” -Jose Rizal

In one month, I will be working in regions that I am only vaguely familiar with, and in neighborhoods that I have never heard of. As a home care therapist, I will need to “plot of my course” daily, considering the best way to sequence/schedule my patients in a way that allows me to maximize productivity. For instance, it makes a lot more sense to start at the one end of the county and go straight across throughout the day, rather than zig-zagging across the county (wasting time and fuel) all day long.

I own, and could use, a GPS unit, but question its utility and hope not to turn it on. By providing me a journey without a context, my GPS could do an excellent job telling me how to get where I need to go, but would never effectively teach me about where I have been.

I will open my paper map, instead.

Leave a Reply

