Disappointing and Frustrating

I have been attending an orientation with a group of other health care providers, most of whom are nurses who are also entering into the home care environment for the first time. One of the RNs that I will be working with is Lucy, she will be a case manager.

Lucy is in her fifties, but nursing is her second career. She has been an RN for 7 years.

When introducing ourselves to the group, we had to share why what had drawn us to our new positions within this particular organization. She said:

“I am in my fifties and have come to realize that I have a lot to offer people. I want to be able to help them to the best of my ability, but I felt like I was unable to do that in the hospital. I am at the point now in my life where I realize that it is time to stop focusing on what I cannot do, and focus on what I can do. I wanted a job where I can just work on my strengths. My strengths are what are going to help people get better, not my weaknesses. And I love that I can go into people’s homes and do what I am good at, helping people.”

Do not become Lucy; her patients deserve better. Her patients warrant care from a clinician who strives to be the best in all aspects of professional life, not just the areas she thinks she already excels at.

Leave a Reply

