On The Path To Wisdom

It was one of the highlights of riding to my grandparents house when I was a child, learning what their sign would say. Unlike the link provided, it usually had a worthy phrase or quotation that would be worth thinking or talking about.

Twenty-five years have passed, and quotes are easier to come by now than they were before.  No longer do they have to go to the library and find something new to put on their board.  Now they simply have to type a topic into their favorite search engine and, “Presto!” they have something new or insightful to hang outside.

Granted, finding the words to write may be easier, but (every 2-3 days) someone has to go out to the sign and put something new up on the board; that is the effort I appreciate. Now at the age of 34, as I drive by that same sign in the mornings on my way to work, I smile when (from a distance) I see something new on the board and the kid in me becomes curiously excited to drive close enough to see what it says.

Yesterday, the board quoted William James:

“The art of being wise is the art of knowing what to overlook.”

I smiled. I had never considered myself “wise” before, nor do I now, but I think I might be on my way, and (much like Occam’s Razor itself) that is a pretty cool thing.

Leave a Reply

