Anatomical Addition

“I was very arrogant at an age where I had no talent at all. It is painful to think that, if I could look at my work realistically in those years…”

I hear a lot of myself in this thought from Jules Feiffer, on a recent To The Best Of Our Knowledge podcast.

Like many of my colleagues, I have a strong history of arrogance. On numerous occasions, I have said that someone did not complete their home exercise program because they were “lazy”. Worst yet, I have said that someone was fat or unmotivated when they did not “act” as I, in my wisdom, had recommended.

I had a problem…fortunately, I have moved past it.

.     .     .     .

At the age of 23, I passed an exam that afforded me the opportunity to “treat” patients. I had a strong academic knowledge of anatomy, a little less physiology, and a lot more about how to practice in such a way so as to not get sued. At no point did the exam include any materials or questions regarding how to treat people.

If  my teachers were to read this today, they would tell you that they taught me how to treat the “whole” patient. I would argue that they had only instructed us to treat all of their parts; that a person is not simply the summation of those parts and to treat them as such is a gross injustice.

Fortunately, I am still learning; they are still teaching.

Leave a Reply

