Crawling

Eleven years ago, a song became a hit in the rock scene; it was in the middle of the wave of Nu-Metal that had begun in the mid-late nineties.

Despite the lyrics being somewhat (purposefully?) vague, I always thought that it was clear that the band was referencing drug addiction, specifically to heroin or methamphetamine:

[Chorus]
Crawling in my skin
These wounds, they will not heal
Fear is how I fall
Confusing what is real

There’s something inside me that pulls beneath the surface
Consuming, confusing
This lack of self control I fear is never ending
Controlling

I can’t seem
To find myself again
My walls are closing in
(Without a sense of confidence I’m convinced that there’s just too much pressure to take)
I’ve felt this way before
So insecure

[Chorus]

Discomfort, endlessly has pulled itself upon me
Distracting, reacting
Against my will I stand beside my own reflection
It’s haunting how I can’t seem.

To find myself again
My walls are closing in
(Without a sense of confidence I’m convinced that there’s just too much pressure to take)
I’ve felt this way before
So insecure

[Chorus]

Crawling in my skin
These wounds, they will not heal
Fear is how I fall
Confusing, confusing what is real

There’s something inside me that pulls beneath the surface
Consuming, confusing
(Confusing what is real)
This lack of self control I fear is never ending
Controlling
(Confusing what is real)

While traveling home after taking a course on Dermoneuromodulation, with Diane Jacobs, PT, this song came on the radio and I heard the lyrics in a different light, although I am quite certain that Linkin Park never intended to write a song about chronic pain and/or tunnel syndromes.

.     .     .     .

For those who prefer the softer side of things, I offer you Linkin Park’s cover of Rolling In The Deep and  someone’s beautifully performed piano interpretation of Crawling.

Leave a Reply

