Sports Night, Ep. 14

Rebecca

This writer keeps posting thoughts that have me thinking a little about how story, context, understanding, belief and truthfulness apply to the field of physical therapy and how I interact with my patients.

Meanwhile, in episode 14, Dana has come to the realization that she wants to make the relationship with her boyfriend (Gordon) work, but fears that he may feel like he plays second fiddle to her career; he seems to be prepared to break up with her. With some less-than-subtle encouragement (from Natalie) to do so, Dana approaches Casey for advice:

Casey: What’s on your mind?
Dana: I don’t know how to keep Gordon. I don’t know what to say to him.
Casey: What do you want to say to him?
Dana: Don’t break up with me.
Casey: That’s not going to work.
Dana: It won’t?
Casey: No. What else you got?
Dana: Nothing.
Casey: You’re wrong.
Dana: No I’m not.
Casey: You’ve got the truth.
Dana: I don’t have the truth.
Casey: You’d be amazed at how attractive the truth can be sometimes…
Dana: The truth is I have a job that involves me and stimulates me and rewards me and takes up a lot of my time and I’m not willing to do my job just a little bit, I want to do all of it. It’s part of me and I’m different without it. And that is who I am, and that is who you need to love. Except it won’t work!
Casey: Yes it will.
Dana: It won’t.
Casey: Say it just like that.

A few minutes later, Dana is in the studio with Natalie:

Natalie: You talked to him?
Dana: Yeah.
Natalie: What’d he say?
Dana: Nothing.
Natalie: How do you feel?
Dana: Better.

I am not surprised. After all, she had been biting her tongue.

Leave a Reply

