The Pop-In

I had 90 minutes between patients today and I was excited; I had come upon an interesting podcast that I wanted to write about. But after receiving my flu shot at the agency, I was only 2 miles from his home.

It has been almost a year since her passing, and I don’t get to see him as much as I should. At over 90 years old, he is in fair health and still living in the home my mother grew up in, but not a single day or opportunity should be taken for granted. Not to mention, I am one of only 2 grandchildren who visit him with any consistency at all.

I stopped by to visit…my writing could wait.

I brought him a few homemade dinners he could warm up in the microwave; he thanked me repeatedly.

We talked about politics and exchanged views on the need for Social Security and Medicare reform; his brow furrowed.

I shared with him photographs of his great-grandchildren trick-or-treating on Halloween night; his grin grew large.

He had been surprised to see me arrive; he expressed his gratitude for my visit when I left.

Maybe one day I will find a way to thank him for always having his door open, for giving me $20 to keep in my wallet in case of an emergency (because he thought that would be enough money to buy a bus ticket home – it wasn’t), and for always being more supportive than any grandfather could be expected to be.

Perhaps I already have.

Leave a Reply

