From the Pond

When I heard this To The Best of our Knowledge podcast, I felt compelled to read Walden. The selected readings on the podcast were at the same time both beautiful and poignant; they somehow conjured within me a sort of need to read the book to discover what I had long ago missed.

So, I purchased a cheap, un-annotated version for my e-reader and began to read.

I kept Homer’s Iliad on my table through the summer, though I looked at his page only now and then. Incessant labor with my hands, at first, for I had my house to finish and my beans to hoe at the same time, made more study impossible.

It took longer to read Walden than I had expected. There was my job, the kids, my studies, social engagements, mowing the lawn, cleaning the house, running errands…in the end, I was left with only a few minutes every night to flip through a few pages of this book before falling asleep with my e-reader in hand.

3 months (and a mere 250 pages) later, I am finished.

Leave a Reply

