Uh-Oh

I was proof-reading an email to a future PT student tonight (he starts his first-ever clinical with me in less than 2 weeks) and realized that I would NOT have wanted to get the same letter when I was 22-years-old and drinking with friends every night while thinking that the world so black and white and I consistently, righteously and confidently knew where to draw the line between right and wrong.

“…Unfortunately for you, I am also a CI that is going to expect you to put in time “after hours”. By the end of this rotation, we will be sharing a caseload and you will be responsible for the documentation of the service you provide. Worse still, the agency completes all of its notes in narrative format…it takes time. Additionally, there will be some reading assignments to give us something to talk about while we are together in an compact auto for 6-8 hours per day. I will try to make it less than painful, I promise. For instance, some of the readings will be something quick, like this one: http://www.barrettdorko.com/one_hand_clapping.htm. My line of thinking is that if I can spend an hour or so per night reading after all is done at the end of the day, so can you.”

“Shit,” I would have thought to myself, “this is going to be a fuckin’ long 8 weeks.”

Hopefully my student has the maturity to see things differently than I would have at the same age.

2 thoughts on “Uh-Oh

    • That is the plan…start slow, reduce the dissonance.

      The good thing is that this will be his first affiliation; hopefully I have an opportunity to make a positive impact with a “blank canvas”.

      Thanks for reading, Pat.

Leave a Reply

